Individual Awards

The Whittaker Award

This 36cm Shield was presented, to the Solihull & District Oakbourne Football League for inclusion into the award listings made for season 2006-2007, by Malcolm Whittaker, the then League General Secretary, as simply a special award to mark a special season achievement. The recipient of the award will be selected by Malcolm himself, whilst he remains attached to the league. This most special award can be given to almost any individual, team, or group within the league who is recognised to have excelled in a specific manner within league competition, or the league operations in a given playing season, or, really, in special recognition of an achievement of any description. As with all trophies and awards, the Whittaker Shield remains the property of the Solihull and District Oakbourne Football League, as per the league directives.

Season 2015-2016 Kings Norton Celtic

Kings Norton Celtic, following a successful season culminating in their successful defence of the Council Challenge Trophy.

Season 2014-2015 Chris Earp

A huge aim of the League was to have a fully functioning, and successful Representative Team. Season 2014-2015 saw the aim take a huge leap forward, under the guidance of newly appointed manager Chris Earp. New systems, new players, new training and an evident commitment saw Earp's Army remaining undefeated in 2015 and building for an even brighter future in seasons to come.

Season 2013-2014 Liam Cronin

Liam Cronin stepped up to the plate and took over the position of fixtures secretary. This arduous job is one that most avoid but Liam battled on and made a real success of it. At the conclusion of the season he was also pressed into service to produce our Cup Final Programmes. He took hold of this job with his normal enthusiastic approach and the resultant programmes were spectacular.

Season 2012-2013 Robert Hughes (club secretary)

In 2012-2013 the award presented to Robert Hughes, club secretary of MVU FC, in recognition of his personal achievement with M.V.U. FC . After a torrid season that almost saw the death of the side, he displayed a boundless commitment and more than average enthusiasm that lifted the side all the way to the Championship of Division Three.

Season 2011-2012 Solihull Spartans (Team)

The 2011-12 season saw the award given to Solihull Spartans. After winning Division Three and Marlene Ashley Cup Final in their first season, and being promoted to Division One, they went one better, in season 2011-2012, comfortably winning Division One, the President's Trophy (which was open to all divisions) and their own divisional knockout competition - the Alan Walker Cup

Season 2010-2011 Pete Foster & Tony Boyce

For the 2010 - 2011 season, the award was made jointly to Pete Foster pictured) and Anthony Boyce in recognising their 'long standing' management achievements just as their team, St Andrews , that was formed 1958, sadly reached the end of the road. St Andrews Athletic spent just 3 short seasons in our league but thanks to this pair left everyone with lasting memories of professionalism.

Season 2009-2010 Malcolm Whitehouse

In season 2008-2009, Council managed to get Malcolm Whitehouse to agree to administer the League Fair Play System. Following, and supporting, the FA Respect campaigns the system had been designed to reward teams for their efforts made in showing respect to officials. Malcolm did a fine job in 2009-2010 and the System gathered interest from other leagues and the County FA.

Season 2008-2009 Sporting Phoenix F.C. (Team)

The whole team of Sporting Phoenix, who were a member club for seven seasons, won this award in season 2008-2009. After taking the Championship of Division 1, by a clear 10 points and scoring 100 goals in the division, they went on to win the John Smith Cup, in the previous season. The team then made it a unique double by becoming Premier Champions just 12 months later.

Season 2007-2008 Steve Rae (league Chairman)

Steve Rae (pictured left) was the winner of the award in 2007-08. As Chairman of the league, his assistance to the League General Secretary during a a period of time that he would rather not recall did a lot to keep the league running smoothly, and successfully, whilst moving forward with the aims that had been set for the progressive running, and professionalism of the League

Season 2006-2007 Ryan Kirby (secretary & manager)

Ryan Kirby (pictured left) was the Winner in the first season of the award. As secretary and manager of St. Leonards FC, faced with a re-building task to maintain a respectable level of play he was unerring in his ambition to succeed. After finishing a credible 5th in the Premier and Winning the Rita Osborne Shield, he came out of the season with a job well done.